Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There have been heated controversies over the provision of governmental resources on infrastructure. A majority of citizens argue that public funding should be allocated to the development of railway and train systems rather than to general streets. As far as I am concerned, after taking all aspects into consideration, I personally reject the suggestion, given some rebuttals that are going to be discussed in the essay.

On the one hand, it is indisputable that there is a number of possible benefits in terms of time and convenience when having a modern railway system. However, simultaneously, there are several major difficulties and challenges when investing in train systems. First and foremost, long-distance railway lines cost governments a fortune to implement, given the materials and human resources required to complete such demanding constructions. Moreover, maintenance fees for those underground metro and railway systems are exorbitantly expensive, which makes it a daunting task for the authorities to balance their budget for other strategic intentions. Therefore, railways should not deserve the national priority for investment.

On the other hand, as an alternative direction, governments can steer their focus onto public streets and highways which offer them fewer financial requirements. To state that, the essential expenses for general expressways are much more reasonable compared to a bunch of money needed to construct train systems. In addition, since a majority of people use their private vehicles for daily commuting purposes, renovating bridges and avenues would probably meet the demands of many citizens and hence increase the governments’ reputations. Lastly, if public roads are upgraded, the perennial issue of traffic congestion will be completely tackled, which certainly enhances individuals’ satisfaction and driving experience.

To sum up, given the challenges in terms of prices offered by the development of railway systems, I believe roads and public streets are worth the investment from the officials.