Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case?

Do you think is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, there are rising concerns about children wasting a significant amount of time on their mobile phones. There are some reasonable justifications to explain for this situation from both subjective and objective views. However, despite some positive points for this phenomenon, from my perspective, it emerges as a negative factor in people’s life.

First, there are several plausible explanations to account for the children’s sticking their eyes on smartphones. One of the most acceptable aspects to be taken into consideration is the increasing popularity of technology and modern gadgets, which creates a boost in terms of smartphone purchase and usage. It is indisputable that mobile phones, as well as technological devices, are achieving unchangeable positions in people’s lives, making many individuals struggle to control their time on screens on a regular basis. Another contributory factor to this pressing issue is the negligence of parents and families to educate and limit their children’s interaction with gadgets. To be more specific, a majority of elementary students are possessing their own smartphones, which facilitates and offers them the ideal condition to be dependent on their phones without any modification and parental surveillance. Moreover, the need to use technology for educational purposes can be considered as an objective cause for the ascending time that children spend on smartphones. To state that, due to the social distancing during the Covid-19 pandemic, children coincidentally get familiar with gadgets as their useful tools for studying, which certainly raises their time spent on smartphones daily.

Despite some of the merits when using smartphones, I personally believe this situation to be detrimental for children in particular. First and foremost, the mounting amount of time on screens can cause some serious health problems as well as mental illnesses in children. For instance, more and more young students are likely to suffer from visual disorders and autism as a result of uncontrolled smartphone usage. In addition, the longer time children spend on gadgets, the higher possibility of them encountering inappropriate information such as sensitive and sexual advertisements on the internet, which negatively influences their healthy mental growth.

In conclusion, the given situation can be plausibly explained by a number of aforementioned factors. Even though this may bring some educational benefits for children, I still firmly consider it an improper direction.