At present time the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults compared with the number of old people.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, in some countries around the world, a majority of the population is young adults, with a small portion of the citizens being elderly people. This circumstance brings some benefits as well as produces several drawbacks. However, from my perspective, I believe the advantages supersede the minor disadvantages.

On the one hand, it is indisputable that having a young population has some negative impacts on the country’s social affairs. First, the lack of older people is equivalent to the shortage of experienced workers, which directly affects the domestic economy. For example, since most of the citizens are young people, companies and corporates often struggle to seek and recruit skillful workers for managerial positions. Therefore, more money has to be allocated to setting up vocational programs, draining the public budget. Moreover, equal and fair education for every student is a real challenge for governments when having a large number of young citizens.

On the other hand, having more young people can provide some crucial benefits for society. First and foremost, there will be a huge source of workforce and laborers for the public. It is beneficial for a country to have strong human resources since it will lead to a creative generation with proactive mindsets and a high willingness to engage in challenges. As a result, productivity, as well as public competitiveness, will be enhanced. In addition, a lower rate of old people means less pressure being laid on the healthcare system. To be more specific, since young people are less prone to health problems and medical issues, the government’s budget will be used for other purposes regarding technological advancements and scientific research. This can contribute to human progress in general.

In conclusion, despite some trivial drawbacks of this situation, I do believe that the advantages outweigh the downsides for some aforementioned reasons.