Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

In the limitation of budget, governments who want to build a transportation system sometimes have to choose whether railroads they have to build first or roads. Regards to these options, I do agree that if the governments spend more budgets on railroads rather than roads. I have several reasons why I agree with this statement.

The first, a train on the railroads can carry more passengers than a bus on the roads. In railway carriage, it can bring 50 up to 75 passengers in one way. If a locomotive can takes 10 railway carriages, it can take 500 – 750 passengers in one way. Compared with a bus, it only can bring 50 passengers in one way. Therefore, transport using railroads more efficient than roads. The second, railways is a long term investment. For example railroads in Jakarta which connected it with the city around Jakarta, such as Bekasi, Bogor, and Serpong. These railroads have been built since Netherland governs in Indonesia. These railroads are still useful and bring millions of people in a day until now.

The last, building the railroads means support environmental issue in reducing air pollution. Nowadays air pollution becomes a global concern. Therefore, every country in this world has to make a concrete movement to support this campaign. The railroads and an electric train can become a good solution for this issue.

In conclusion, the governments who have not enough budgets better to spend it to build the railroads because it is more efficient, durable and can support the go green issue. Nevertheless, it is still the best if a government have more than enough money on their budget could build both railroads and roads simultaneously.