Governments Should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Thanks to advances in transportation, it is more convenient for citizens to reach around. However, people have different views on whether governments should spend their budgets on trains rather than roads. It is clear to me that investing in railways and roads can both be beneficial.

On the one hand, some people said that governments should put the budgets into the right basket. Spending money on roads can offer residents a pleasure and safety environment. To be specific, if the money is used for maintaining the roads and constructing the foot paths, drivers and pedestrian may have a better experience on their daily journey. Besides, in some cities, drivers are suffering from traffic jams on the basis that the vehicle volume is too high on the roads. Fortunately, governments can arrange the money to measure this problem by diverting the roads, the number of congestion may decline significantly.

However, the responsibility of governments not only focus on one nation, the infrastructure that connect two or more cities is also important too. For instance, some workers who lived in the countryside travel to work everyday. It is helpful for building the high speed railways in order to transport the workers to work efficiently. In addition, investing on railways which can cut the time of traveling between nations is necessary, too. For example, there is a undersea railway between the UK and France, this investment makes people travel to another nation easier than before. And governments can earn additional revenue from the tourists who take the railways.

In conclusion, while the development of railways can be beneficial, governments also need to spend money on maintain and adjust existed roads in order to give residents a better living conditions.