Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Governments often confront a dilemma: how to utilize limited financial support to construct different infrastructures, especially for transportation. Referring to the current situation, some people suggest that administration departments are suppose to spend money on public transporting trails like rails rather than roads. From my point of view, it is true that devoting finance to the construction of railways would be advantageous on a large scale, but building roads is somewhat necessary on certain occasions, and let me illustrate my perspective with examples and explanations as follows.

To begin with, the construction of roads is inevitable in some areas, remote areas in particular. What I’m trying to say is that these remote areas could be hilly, and thereby it is extremely difficult to build railways, which would also cost governments more economy due to geographical barriers. As a result, the only choice is to construct roads, and for instance, the major transport method in mountainous districts of China is still road. Briefly, governments sometime could only choose road as the principal transportation according to geographical conditions.

Nevertheless, the better investment for the governments is building rails if the condition is suitable for it. Firstly, it will provide more convenience to people’s life, especially those working in large cities. To be specific, urban residents suffer from the heavy traffic jams when commuting to working places and prefer to use public transportation like railways. Additionally, taking trains is much more faster than driving by themselves. For example, a survey suggests that over 70% of dwellers in Chengdu said they tend to work by train. In short, it would be more convenient for citizens to travel to work through accelerating the construction of railways.

For another angle, railways, as public transportation, are much more environment-friendly compared to cars. As we all know that more car use will exacerbate the emission of tail gas, which includes not only toxic contaminants but also carbon dioxide, leading to global warming. However, some railways exploiting modern technology are less likely to emit these detrimental air. To sum up, there would be more merits in the aspect of environment when it comes to the construction of railways.

In conclusion, governments should spend more finance building railways and relevant public transporting modes, although sometimes, roads would be more cost-efficient. It depends on many ingredients like people’s basic need, geographical conditions and etc. Last but not least, as an old saying in China, everything is double-edges, and we need to consider more before making any statements.