Immigration: The Poor Man’s Escape

Immigration has become a big global issue, especially in the field of economics, trade, and business. Population in some countries balloons because of immigrants, whether these immigrants are legal or not. The most common reason for immigration is the continuous search for a better life abroad, making immigration seem like the poor man’s escape.

There are so many reasons why people migrate to other countries. Some people are simply forced to move, perhaps because of war and hostility, just like what happened to the Syrians last year, and the Jews during the Nazi occupation. Others migrate because they want to find better workplaces and job opportunities abroad – the so-called greener pasture. Some migrants say they left their country behind because of prejudice and persecution. Others simply migrate because they are in search of adventure, or they just wanted a different place to live and retire.

Immigration is the poor man’s escape, and here, it is not mentioned with a sarcastic note. It is indeed practical to work abroad, especially if you do not see any improvement in your country’s economic landscape. A nation full of violence and corruption is not healthy for you. In such times, it is better to escape and be an immigrant.

Immigration is oftentimes seen as an act of courage. Living abroad can be daunting for a newcomer because he becomes exposed to a different culture. He has to adopt a new way of living, perhaps adjust to new beliefs and a higher cost of living. Even the pain of leaving your family behind is hard to endure. Immigrants also face bigger problems: underemployment and unemployment, abuse, not getting enough support from the government, and getting ostracized by society, mainly because they are seen as part of a minority group. There is also separation anxiety and the challenge of finding a better job. After all, that is the reason why they left.

If immigration is not all glitters and gold, then why do people still work their way to the bureau? Why do they spend time preparing their papers and getting that flight to other countries and beyond? The reason is simple: They have no other choice.