With the increased global demand in oil and gas, undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up to access more resources.

With the increase in population and the advent of modern technology, the demand for oil and gas is increasing day by day. This increase in demand might lead us to think that we should search for other sources of oil and gas which are still undiscovered. But since the earth is already in a vulnerable condition, the consequence of it would be devastating, which cannot be accepted.

The population of the world is growing in accelerated rate, so is the demand for fossil fuels. But again, fossil fuels are responsible for the greenhouse effect that the earth is going through for a while. This leads to global warming and many other destructive consequences. Also by digging out oil and gas can affect the overall balance of the earth in many ways. According to researchers, even if carbon emission is kept at a constant rate, it won’t be enough to prevent global warming and other corresponding consequences. At this moment, responding to the increased demand for oil and gas by searching for them in areas that are not yet opened up will be to sign a death warrant for the planet that is our home.

To satisfy the demand for fossil fuel we have to turn our attention to renewable energy like wind, tidal, solar power etc. These are the most viable options to meet the current demand for fuel without any negative effect to the earth. To succeed, more money should be invested into research regarding the use of renewable energy. Also, the existing technologies which are reliable on fossil fuel should be modified for using renewable energy as their major energy source.

So to conclude, it is not plausible to use more of the earth’s fossil fuel resources any more. The best option we have is to turn towards renewable energy.