An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend ?

Books and paper based materials to do examinations and tasks are replaced by gadget such as laptops and tablets since the increasing number of schools provide it for students. This condition results a benefit in paperless using, but it causes a student cheating problem.

Using electronic books or computer based examinations will decrease the need of papers leading to save our trees. By handling a gadget, pupils don’t need to submit anything with paper to the teacher, but it can be done just by using email or online website developed by their school as the education platform. If the paper is not needed anymore, the logging activities will decrease as one of the main product of it is papers. For example, logging activity in Kalimantan was being halved since Tjiwi Kimia, one of the biggest paper company in Indonesia, decrease their production once after more than 20 schools in Surabaya stopped to use a paper in 2017.

What about the disadvantage? The high communication technology inside gadget leads students to do a cheating while examination or doing their tasks. As the increase of free online learning and materials, a lot of tasks are uploaded by students in around the world that can be easily accessed, so the pupils given task by their teacher can just copy all of the answers and send it to the teacher. For instance, one of the famous international school in Surabaya which held a computer based examination for students was being surprised when they knowed that the students have same answers to the different type of questions, it occurred in 2010. After interviewing with some students, they realized that the students only type the tittle of question in internet and find the answer without read it in detail.

To sum up, the trend of using gadget provided by schools bring to the minimizing of paper as the advantage, but it drives a serious cheating problem