An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Nowadays, many schools are changing their forms to educate or give classes to their students. Is a trend that schools or institutes are offering laptops or mobile devices to the students with the idea to teach in a digital atmosphere.

In my opinion, these changes can offer a large quantity of educational opportunities to the students. Besides, it can carry out an environmental solution.

Firstly, give laptops or tablets to the student's community could impact in a positive way the form that a teacher presents his class. With the assistance of computers, the assessments would be more exciting and interactive for students. Now, they can support their knowledge by audiovisual resources, such as videos, photos or audios. Despite this technological tool, some students could miss the attention to the class and put their concentration inside of internet surfing or chatting through their social networks. As a result, they sill achieve bad grades in their exams.

Another advantage for a digital school, is the decrement for paper production, giving a high impact on the environment. If the tasks, exams, and notebooks are less, it will reduce the unnecessary litter. However, in many schools communities, this is unimaginable because the majority of their administrative processes are made by paper documents. This means, that schools organizations need real exams or tasks to provide information to the government or municipalities that they belong to.

To conclude, the advantages of giving electronic devices to students have real positives impacts in the school communities, and also is environmentally friendly. Nevertheless, it is still not possible for many schools because they need to digitalize some procedures.