Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve the growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

Issues related to traffic and pollution have concerned numerous government all around the world recently. Some people contend that the best solution to tackle those problems is to increase petrol’s prices. However, I do not agree with this opinion since there are other practical measures that authorities should take.

On the one hand, increasing the fuel price participates greatly in the progress of mitigating growing traffic and pollution problems. Firstly, only by paying an extremely high price for fuel can people reduce the use of private transports. Instead of using their cars or motorbikes daily, commuters can choose other economical ways for their traveling purposes. As a result, traffic congestion and greenhouse gas will significantly decrease. Secondly, the rise of petrol’s price also takes part in the campaign to encourage citizens to share their transport. For example, co-workers or family members can use one car instead of many ones as in the past to travel for work or entertainment purposes. Consequently, the increase in fuel’s price particularly helps resolve traffic congestion and environmental issues.

On the other hand, it is not solely a solution since there are various effective measures which can be used. The first efficient measure is to develop public transport systems. Governments should allocate more money to improve the condition of buses, trains or MRTs. Moreover, a decrease in tickets also plays an important role since more students, workers and elderly are encouraged to use it. Another practical method is to develop the demand to use bikes in citizens. Hardly people ride bikes nowadays; however, they are considered safe and clean vehicles. Therefore, authorities should provide more public bikes and free bike parking places for citizens in cities. Moreover, the streets also should be renovated in order to be safer for bikers.

In conclusion, the increase in the price of petrol is a good idea to tackle traffic and environmental problems; however, there are still more measures which are far more effective. Governments should try hard to mitigate the concerning problems in order to ensure citizens’ lives are improving gradually daily.