Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities.

To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages?

The various aspects of our lives such as home, leisure, and work are now being dominated by Information technology. Although it has its own drawbacks, I believe that the merits of Information technology overshadow them.

The use of smart devices such as Alexa, Google home, etc has automated our homes and has made them smarter. Using such devices to control appliances such as lights, fans, and even Television creates ease of usage. One can even install devices that measure the usage of electricity and with some basic knowledge, understand if that device is faulty and make amends. For example, installing smart switches for appliances like water heaters, washing machines, etc, and monitoring them frequently is an apt usage. Although the unavailability of reliable internet and electricity in some areas hinders the functionality of such devices, it still proves to be a good facility.

Social media, gaming, watching videos on YouTube, etc are some of the leisure activities that people dwell in. The idea behind the creation of social media was to make it possible for people to connect around the world easily. Many have come into contact with their old friends from schools and colleges and are having a great time catching up. However, it is a well-known fact that spending too much time looking at the screen while gaming or watching videos, etc does have a deteriorating impact on the eyes, one can control their own time and make the best use of the technology provided. Also being a little careful on the internet will save a person from fraudulent activities.

To recapitulate I would once again emphasize the fact that the benefits of Information technology diminish its drawbacks. The usage of smart devices makes our lives easier at home, social media connects us with our long-lost friends, and gaming and watching videos give us a break from the monotonous daily routine, this, when used with care is a wonderful tool.