International tourism is the biggest industry in the world. Unfortunately,international tourism creates tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is indisputable that international tourism is one of the most leading businesses in our contemporary society. However, some individuals deem that tourism industry just make conflicts arise instead of gaining a crucial insight into different cultural backgrounds among people. Personally, I am not in favor of this view.

First of all, although cross-border tourism can exist friction between local people and foreigners, this can be resolved and sympathized with due to lack of reserch of foreigners and the short time they stay in the host country. With regard to the former, some international visitors come to the host country to travel, due to their lack of pre-departure reseach about that country's cultures and beliefs, they have incidentally cause some cross-cultural understandings. To illustrate, in some remote areas in Vietnam, international tourists are just allowed to capture photos in certain areas, but many visitors do not know about this and some even walk into the ethnic people's house to take photos of them, which has increased the tension among ethic people and visitors. On the second point, many foreign visitors just stay in the host country for temporary, which means many offence made by tourists would then be forgotten and would not be taken too seriously.

A more significant is that cross-border tourism can foster harmony between individuals from different cultural roots. Since first-hand experience with culture would render a holistic and unbiased view toward its people, which are often mislead by social media. To exemplify, upon making a visit to Vietnam, American tourists are astonished by the warm hospitality of the locals, who, to some individual's misconception, should be bearing a grudge over their war enemies in the past.

In conclusion, although conflicts as a result of inter-country tourism do exist, they can be successfully managed, and more often than not, international tourism is a contributing factor to an enhanced understanding of people from different cultures.