It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

More and more people are taking a year of gap before joining the college. The main advantage is students who have completed their schooling would have some time to decide which group to choose. The major drawback is that they might lose interest in studies.

Firstly, it is becoming common among youth’s where they take one year of time to pick the selected course they wish. To be more précises, after the students who have finished their high schooling they might take some time because they left with ample amount of time to pick the course they like the most. If the students does not have the required time and pick out a course that they do not like due to some factors like not having enough funds might result in reducing their academic performance. For instance, in India more than 20% of the youth population is unskilled because of not having the freedom of choosing their own path. Therefore, It is suggested that taking a longer gap after completion of school is beneficial.

Secondly, the loss of interest. An individual who takes too much off time might lose their interest towards studying due to multiple factors. One is they might get engage with other type of works like working as delivery boy (or) joining the politics. Second reason is because of lack of money, by the time a student finishes and decided to enroll himself in an university where he might not have required economy background. For example, in UK there is significance increase in the low income based job where the students who have finished their schools have joined in this set of jobs. Finally, taking a huge amount of time to enroll in the universities is not suggested.

To sum up, there is significant rise in people who are taking leave for a year after high school. It helps adolescences child to decide the correct path however, it might leads to change in their thoughts towards studies.