Some people believe that it is a good idea to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Sharing of information is becoming more common, now days. Many argue that it is good to exchange information without limitations among certain entities like schools, companies etc. Whereas, others believe that it is too vital to share. This essay will discuss why sharing of information should be curbed as well as threats it poses.

Firstly, mining of data and exchanging it with other demography of people will be beneficial. By this I mean, exchange of details among students plus scientist would help to complete their work within required amount of time. When it comes to organizations, it can help them for future developments. While I agree that delivering one’s knowledge to others has advantages but it has some demerits too. First of all, it will create confusion among students due to irrelevant topics. Second, scientist fames and credits would be given to another person. Lastly, in companies their financial dealing with their client’s documents might be leaked. For example, recent studies suggest that people in UK discloses 10% of information to others which are too sensitive. Therefore, individuals should deliver adequate amount of data to others.

Secondly, disclosing information that is too sensitive in nature can have adverse effects. To be more precise, information about government’s security blue prints, weapons statics and secret research facility details can be leaked publicly which might result in compromise of the states sovereign. For instance, India’s nuclear program location was leaked by neighboring countries spy’s which had endangered several innocent lives. In addition, some information’s are too costly due to its nature. For example, scientists would not share data because they do not gain anything and they charge for certain money. Based on above examples, the data that puts one’s nation in danger should stay hidden.

To sum up, individuals share information often. This essay discussed why information should be shared as much as possible and it values. In my opinion, delivery of knowledge needed to be limited and value based data should be hidden (or) should be charged.