It is generally agreed that the amount of rubbish created by humans today is a worldwide problem.What do you think are the main causes of this situation? What measures can be used to tackle the problem?

Due to the lack of evironmental awareness, people nowadays including both rural and urban citizens have increasingly made a contribution to the rise of garbage at alarming rates. It has caused huge damages to habitats on Earth especially the land and the sea, the governments, therefore, should impose strict punishments to address this problem.

First of all, throwing rubbish has caused serious environmental issue on land and sea under various pollution levels. In terms of land, piles of domestic waste could send out a tremendous amount of carbon dioxide and heat-trapping gases, resulting in greenhouse effect and ozone layer depletion. On the other hand, littering into the sea also made an impact on marine ecosystem. Thousands of fish has been on the verge of danger because of harmful plastic bags over the past decades, which led to terrible death for misunderstanding those for food. If present trends continue, human beings might also be the one who have to deal with such a big problem when our environment were totally destroyed and animals were completely extinct.

For these reasons, steps need to be taken to save our world. One of the most essential measures for this is to raise local people’s awareness. For instance, we can hang posters and banners preventing littering along the street or organize some useful environmental protection programs for them to take in. Besides, severe punishments should be inflicted for dumping the rubbish in public places to make sure that environment are properly managed and protected.

In conclusion, there are various factors leading to littering and the governments should impose several approaches tackle this serious issue.