It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Some people believe that punishment is necessary for children in order to help them learn the difference between right and wrong at such young ages. While there are some valid arguments to the contrary, I personally believe that punishment is not a healthy way of teaching children how to differentiate good from bad. My reasons for this are as follows.

First of all, it is clear that teaching children needs so much more effort and patience than any other ages. Children at young ages are very fragile and need to be loved more than anything else. For instance, everybody knows that if they yell and tell a kid: “Do not touch that!” it will probably have the opposite impact and the child is more likely to do the one thing he/she is forbidden to do. Second of all, punishments usually come along with a sense of anger and humiliation. This can lead to influence the child’s unconscious in a bad way. If a kid feels that at some point, she/he is not accepted as a “good child” anymore, they can start acting aggressively to excess and argue with every word you say.

Therefore, I think that the most effective way children are going to learn about rights and wrongs, is how their adult role models behave. Children have an obvious interest in imitation and try to copy every move of their parents, teachers and even strangers they find interesting. Hence, Parents and teachers should be much more careful with their behaviour when they are communicating with children. Other than that, in my belief, games and stories are much more effective than punishments. Teachers should design group activities in order to teach the differences between good and bad and then provide gifts and prizes for the ones that are coping well. As a result of this, I believe the other kids would gradually come along.

By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position that punishments are not an effective method of teaching and children should be assured that one mistake is not going to change the way you love them. Also, parents and teachers should control their behaviours as a salient role model and stop any contradictions that may have a bad influence on a child.