It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Children are at such age of their life where they merely distinguish between right and wrong. It is very necessary for teachers and parents to teach them same. Some propants claim that punishment is the effective way to ensure the children to do the right thing. I personally believe that it is not an effective way to lesson them a good values.

First of all, punishments might hurt their feelings and make them more frightful. They are just grown-up kids they need more forgiving. For example, if a kid has does something wrong, it would be better for parents and teachers to teach them why they should not do that, rather than chastize the child, explain to help them truly understand why that act is wrong. If a child say some inappropriate word, blindly scolding them make the child more confused and dreadful which is not good for their health.

Secondly, punishment is not as effective as education. Parents and teachers should set good examples, proper advise and guidance will help them to overcome their sins. Recent research suggest that 85% of the children behaves in a good and an appropriate manner who received payment guidance from their parents and teachers. On the other hand, children who are punished are more likely to behave badly.

In conclusion, punishment is not the top priority of parents and teachers to lesson their children. Giving them message or advise for their faults will lead them to a proper understanding.