It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion What sort of punishment should parents and t

As far as a child is concerned there are a lot of good and bad behaviours around them. Eventhough, a child should understand the difference between these entities at very early stage, I do not completely agree with the opinion of punishing them for the same. This essay will look into both these arguments.

Parents and teachers have a great role in a childs growth and development. So that, if they punish them to teach him good behaviours and to keep away from bad characters, it is acceptable to an extent. For example, recently I saw an advertaisement in television where a mother gave her son chappathi while all the others sharing the table have biriyani. Because, that boy had stolen 10 rupees from his mother’s purse. Although it passes a great messege, I think that act will hurt that little one a lot. Instead of realising the truth, he starts hating his mother. Likewise, scolding and beating a child infront of others simply disturb his mind and he will see his parents as devils. So I believe, parents should try to implement the importance of good behaviour in a child in a good manner than punishing. And make sure they will not repeat these acts again.

On the otherhand, if parents wish to punish their child they can do it by withdrawing offers given to them. Like, not letting them to play with their friends, not to watching their favourite cartoon shows, or by not taking them to their outing places like theme parks. Also, give time for them to realise their fault and change it to good things. So that, after clearing out bad behaviours give permission for all banned activities.

To conclude, to make awareness about the good and bad things around a child, parents and teachers should mainly focus on how much the child had understood the situation rather than simply punishing them. In my opinion, they should give gifts and applause for the good behaviours a child do so that, they are encouraged to continue the same behaviour in the future