It is more important for a building to serve a purpose than to look beautiful. Architects shouldn't worry about producing building as a work of art. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that architects should mainly design buildings according to their practical purposes rather than to be attractive and beautiful. Personally, I agree entirely with this Idea and I will discuss the reasons here.

Utilitarian buildings intended to serve specific purposes seem to promote the productivity of the occupants and also their clientele. This means that modern architecture should consider necessary criteria in the internal designs to successfully address the practical purposes and problems, hopefully being applicable to serve the people`s demands. For instance, it seems necessary for hospitals to involve fundamental infrastructures, rooms, and equipment to deal with problems arisen for both patients and health staff. Furthermore, while designing more practical structures, architects would save money and time to construct extra buildings for similar functions. The importance of this idea might be realized by highlighting the lack of land and natural resources in the context of the growing world population. A utilitarian construction which fully contains all necessities for urban life might diminish the need for further expenses and time for transport, construction, leading to raising the sense of satisfaction for the inhabitants.

Some may argue that qualities of beauty and attractiveness seem to tremendously affect people`s mind, and thus their attitude towards such buildings for their affairs. Nevertheless, this notion may raise financial and social concerns for the owners and their clienteles if buildings are devoid of necessary spaces, structures, and equipment to serve their needs.

In conclusion, I believe that the benefits of a modern internal design are superior to an incentive design for the appearance, as it appropriately considers people`s demands, as well as diminish waste of their time and money.