Many students have to study subjects which they do not like. Some people think this is a complete waste of time. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is little doubt that many students find some academic modules in the school curriculum undesirable to study. However, I entirely disagree that they should not spend the time to learn these subjects, and I will discuss the reasons.

To begin with, it seems vital to incorporate various modules into school syllabus which are necessary to nurture students` talents since they do not always share the same giftedness in academic disciplines. Some may be inclined to learn further mathematical subjects, but others appear to express more interests in sports or foreign languages. For this reason, only a fully comprehensive school curriculum, which involves a wide range of disciplines, would appear to help all the students to find their interesting subjects in this regards, with sufficient time to effectively practice with their teachers.

Furthermore, a core curriculum has been originally designed by pedagogical experts to mainly consider students` educational necessities, not their interests. This means that educational policymakers have planned to impart a wealth of knowledge to the pupils, and also improve their fundamental skills by regular series of course books and subjects. If the students were responsible to freely choose modules based on their desires, they would run the risk of illiteracy and as well as inappropriate resourcefulness in such areas as communication, team working, and especially scientific subjects which can all have significant impacts on choosing their university majors, and career progress later in life.

Some may argue that obligatory learning academic subjects may take time up which can be efficiently spent on improving other favorite fields, leading to motivate them to nurture their natural abilities more than ever. Nevertheless, while given appropriate time to be spent on desirable subjects through a comprehensive syllabus, they should be also fully taught of all necessary skills, ranging from scientific materials to practical and social skills which could be used in university and the work environments.

To conclude, personally, I believe that it seems valuable to spend time on learning all the essential academic modules because they have been planned to enhance students` fundamental educational and social skills.