Some people claim that public museums and art galleries will not be needed because people can see historical objects and works of art by using a computer. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

We are all keen on visiting historical and artistic objects wherever possible although the impact of direct viewing has been recently challenged by some people. I strongly believe that remote viewing of such valuable items merely through computers cannot be a practical proposition, and I will outline the reasons in this essay.

To begin with, computers can never replace real public museums and art galleries. No matter how real and vivid computer images are, they are only images and can never be likened to the historical objects and works of art that we see in real or even might be allowed to touch with our fingertips. The difference can be compared to seeing the picture of a mango rather than actually eating it.

Furthermore, many historical specimen and artworks have long been maintained in galleries to preserve local cultural identity and tradition which handed down between generations. With the ever-rising using of new technology and computers, many museums and galleries may have to close which is absolutely a potential menace for cultural conservation. Moreover, without the existence of historical and artistic collections, the computer-based information about them will inevitably seem no longer to be available.

Of course, some may argue that social networks and computers have provided us with a great opportunity to travel throughout history and time to visit not only local historical and artistic collections, but also we can browse for international, historical crafts and items gathered in foreign museums. However, nearly everyone who goes to see the original will already be familiar with it from reproductions, they accept that fine art is more rewardingly viewed in its original form.

In conclusion, I believe that museums and galleries are essential for each country to preserve their cultural heritage and present educational exhibitions for visitors which seems to be hardly achieved by computer-based information.