It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to the remote natural environments, such as the South pole. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, technological advancement has allowed humans to overcome many of the harsh environmental conditions, and scientific researchers are able to reach further into the unknown more than ever. This leads to some interesting results, and most concur with the development’s benefits.

On the one hand, vast amounts of progress were made when scientists were able to set foot in the South pole. Studies about the poles geology and biology became much clearer and more precise as researchers have opportunities to operate in the field. Much of the knowledge gained will be used to help humans understand the Earth better and help to preserve the environment, especially when global warming is being more severe. Moreover, the harsh conditions can sometimes be used to conduct experiments that previously we were not able to do, thus leading to better evaluation on certain subjects.

On the other hand, disadvantages were found that might threaten the viabilities of scientific expeditions and should not be overlooked. First of all, most research trips are costly and take a large amount of time to conduct. Some argue that the funds required are not worth it and that we should invest in other matters. Secondly, going to a remote area will definitely bring some risk factors, sometimes costing lives. This raises the question of whether we should bet people live or not. Finally, without proper management, too many trips may cause pollution to the area and this pollution is way more complicated to deal with as they are in remote areas. Though there may be many troublesome issues found, I strongly believe that we will find solutions for all and the question of whether the advantages are worth it or not will find a definite answer.

In conclusion, it is too early to decide whether the benefits of scientific expeditions outweigh the drawbacks, but in due time, many issues will be solved and expeditions will be necessary in the future.