Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In this modern era, many people consider that technological advancement provides us with an overwhelming number of choices in various fields in daily life, such as education, food,...etc. I completely agree with this view, and I think that the two majors which have the most significant contribution in the choice expansion are the development of the Internet and globalisation.

First of all, the Internet presents us with an exponentially increased number of available options. Numerous online media choices are now offered free, such as news, entertainment, or music streaming. For instance, in the past, especially when the Internet was not popular, there was a limited way to entertain, in fact, many people had a choice of just 2 radio channels or the 7 pm news, whereas we now have access to thousands of films or songs through services like Netflix or Apple Music. Furthermore, in the pandemic period, while people lessen the number of times going out for grocery shopping and due to school closure, the online shopping and education platforms endow citizens more utilities, so that reduce infection risk in the community.

Alongside the influence of the Internet, globalisation is making the world smaller and closer. Cheap international flights have made overseas travel possible for millions of people, but this also means that we are facing a world of options when deciding where to go on holiday or even where to live. We no longer have the limited but simple travel choices as those of our grandparents’ generation. It is the same if we look at the trend of an increasing number of students who decide to study abroad. While the opportunity for overseas study seems appealing, many students are confused about where to go and which path to take.

In conclusion, we are blessed with so many options to pick from in this modern era and the innovation of technology is increasing the list day by day. We should just be careful and prudent enough to choose the best for us in personal life and for the entire human race for our overall progress.