It is said that the fast pace of our everyday life, as a direct result of the rapid development of telecommunications technology and travel industry, has negative effects on individuals, nations and globe. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In these days, the influence of the hasty pace of modern life resulting from the proliferation of telecommunications technology and travel industry has sparked considerable public debate. Although its drawbacks seem plausible, from my personal perspective, the merits of this trend are more significant.

Advocates of the opinion that the fast pace of life may exert negative influence on human life can seek support from a large number of arguments. First, since the hasty-paced lifestyle can boost human work productivity, it is responsible for the outbreak of life-style-related problems. For example, jobs now are more demanding and require workers’ full commitment, which triggers them to come under high pressure of work and suffer from depression. Second, fax, email, smart phone or other modern means of communication enable employees to exchange information with manager, colleagues and customers at any time, that means they are actually working longer, even outside their working hours and have a less sense of relaxation.

Although the fast-paced lifestyle has some deficits, it is not to say that it has no redeeming feature. In fact, thanks to the advancements of technology such as telecommunication or transport, people can make inquire via smartphone, email, or social networks such as Facebook, Viber without making any physical travels and leaving their office, which reduces the time spent on commutes, makes way for other tasks and boosts work productivity. Moreover, the acceleration of the pace of everyday life also has a function to expand people’s social circle. Nowadays ones can harness social networks and digital devices to keep in touch with the others, as well as take advantage of the modern travel industry to travel further to get acquainted with more people, expose to the new culture and cultivate knowledge, regardless of geographical distance.

In conclusion, while the fast pace of life does have some demerits, I believe that these are negligible compared to the merits. Despite causing some problems related to lifestyle and some intrusions, there are a myriad of benefits people can reap from this acceleration, provided that they do not overuse and rely on it.