It is suggested that every want to have a car, a television and a fridge. Do the disadvantages of this development for society outweigh the advantages

It is true that a car, a television and a fridge are the must-have items that many people manage to have these days. While this trend might be negative to some extent, I would argue that its positive side is greater.

On the one hand, the mass ownership of these consumer products could lead to several health and environmental issues. Cars discourage people from taking exercise such as walking or cycling short distances, and they also produce a huge amount of greenhouse gases namely CO2 and SO2 which are the main cause of air pollution and the phenomenon of global warming. Excessively spending time watching television results in a sedentary lifestyle as well, which would have an adverse impact on human physical health. Even the fridge prompts unhealthy eating as people are tempted to eat processed food storing in their fridges without preparing authentic food for themselves.

On the other hand, I believe that the benefits of owning these necessary goods outweigh the drawbacks. First, cars facilitate the way people travel, so they can find it easy to go to visit relatives or meet their business partners in other cities where they cannot travel to by walking or cycling. Second, there are many useful TV programmes which significantly enrich people’s knowledge. For example, Discovery Channel provides people with an enormous perception of the natural environment in which many wild creatures live. Final, the convenience of storing food in the fridge for long periods is obvious as food waste is reduced and visits to supermarkets can be made on a weekly basis.

In conclusion, while using a car, a television and a fridge might have several disadvantages, I believe that the necessary items bring more advantages, increasing the living standards of citizens.