It is suggested that primary children should learn how to grow vegetable and keep animals. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Children’s development process is affected by many factors, one of which is interactions with the world around their life. Therefore, many parents try to adopt a pet or encourage them to grow a plant during the elementary period. While certain inconveniences are present, I personally believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

Raising an animal comes with lots of expenses and require extra care and attention. Even after bringing the pet home, its food, medicines, and toys can still put a heavy strain on the family’s budget. By the same token, planting a small tree can also be costly and labor-intensive, which may distract children from their education, which is their major aim. Furthermore, there is a slight chance that they may contact allergy or even rabies and many other potential dangerous diseases from the pets and plants.

However, I would argue that learning about agriculture can bring in even more benefits for youngsters. Having spent time with their pets, children will certainly change their view towards other creatures’ lives. Thus, they will become more aware of the products to which farmers had dedicate effort and cherish life. Eventually, it is obvious that kids will have a better perception about the world and nature. Moreover, pets and plants can help with mental welfare. Many researches have shown that a dog or a cat can cheer depressed or sorrowful people up.

In conclusion, despite the time and money required to satisfy the needs, raising a pet can be an essential element in the progress of growing up as a child. Children should learn the importance of being responsible by participate in such activities.