In the last century, the first man to walk on the moon said it was a great step for mankind. But in fact space travel has made little difference to most peoples lives today. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are many who feel that research into space exploration has not made sufficient impact in the average individual’s life to justify its expense. In my opinion, there are valid reasons to ask this question but overall the cultural and scientific effect is all-encompassing.

Those who decry the wasted resources directed towards space programs point out the lack of readily apparent benefits. Sending a man to the moon and maintaining expensive telescopes and space stations do nothing for the average person struggling to pay their bills and vulnerable to sudden economic downturns. Most may casually watch the moon landing or the occasional NASA video on YouTube but that is hardly justification for billions of dollars over decades that could have made a real difference if diverted towards medicine, education, infrastructure, and a vibrant employment sector.

Nonetheless, the effects pertain deeply to culture and science. Firstly, putting a man on the moon was a moment that transcends mundane utilitarian concerns. It not only was an exercise in the power and majesty of the human race but also inspired countless individuals across a wide variety of industries to push for great achievements and have pride in mankind. Secondly, the advances made while researching space have led to concrete, beneficial discoveries. For example, there are now satellites in space making possible phone calls and internet access nearly everywhere on Earth. Countless other large and small innovations from microchips to increased fuel efficiency are also to some degree indebted to the national funding of space exploration.

In conclusion, far from being a waste of valuable resources, space exploration has been the driving force behind the continued progress of humanity. It should therefore continue to receive support.