Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social as well as practical problems

to what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Globalization made the vast world into a small village thereby creating plethora of opportunities for aspiring individuals. Those who settle in foreign countries are obligated to learn the language of the country in order to cope up with tasks they face everyday. I completely agree that expressing ideas in a foreign language may have serious social and practical repercussions. The following paragraph intend to discuss the reasons favouring that statement.

As all new places are coupled with fresh challenges, being in a foreign country creates a compulsion to speak a unknown language and comes with its own issues. For instance, due to language restrictions these people may be denied of opportunities, face discrimination as well as bullying. When attending events such as a interview or a social gathering, non-native speaker are put in a vulnerable position among other native speakers. This might be due to the lack of fluency, poor vocabulary knowledge and hesitancy to speak the newly learned language.

Most people wish to move abroad for tertiary education while some desire to find a dream job, but both group eventually plan to settle down there, eventhough this comes at a price. Results from a recent research done among immigrants living in various countries showed more than half of them have been facing discrimination either at work or study during their stay. In addition to this people find it really hard to ask for a location or bargain in a foreign language in daily situations.

In conclusion, many individuals aspire to live in other countries and convice themselves to learn a new language, but the practical and social disadvantages they might face are not given enough attention.