Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Migrating to a foreign country can indeed result in many problems socially and practically. These problems might be derived from the difference in cultures. Natives, however, understand that one is a foreigner and will not mistreat you.

One of the most significant aspects of moving to a new country is knowing how to speak there. Language is stemmed from culture, and it is vital for immigrants to learn the destination country's culture as well as its language. If we do not acquire the culture, we might do something that is considered rude. Another pitfall is that since we do not know the culture, we may misunderstand what people do, and this might lead to some problems. As an example, shaking hand in middle east means accepting the deal between two parties, but in many countries, it is done when people want to say goodbye; this brings about a misunderstanding between to sides of a transaction.

Although many people argue that it might result in misunderstandings, natives can understand from immigrant's accent that he is not a native and help him realize what they mean by their action. Only can a mentally ill person who is racist do not help one when he realizes he is not from his country. This, however, should not avert us from striving to adapt ourselves to the new country.

There are some truths in the fact that learning and using new language can make misunderstandings, but we should not lose sight of the fact that natives can help us figure out what they mean.