Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Residing in a new nation is always considered to be difficult, especially when people are unable to speak their mother tongue. This might have detrimental effects on new inhabitants’ social life as well as their everyday life. In my opinion, I fully agree with this statement.

Having to accommodate themselves to a foreign language could be problematic socially. A new country also means a new culture with different and exciting experience, and a variety of traditions. So being able to speak the language would help people to adapt easier. Not being able to fully understand their cultures might offend the natives. If people can not communicate, they might have misunderstandings with the locals which lead to conflicts Moreover, they might lose the opportunity to know more about the unique culture of that country which is one of the main reasons why people choose to live in other nations.

In addition, practical issues might arise from communicating in a foreign language. People might have trouble conveying their thought in daily activities, as well as, being able to fully comprehend others. For example, many students travel abroad for university which put them in a dilemma of not being to speak their first language in their everyday life. Some might fail to understand their lectures, finish their homework or make friends at school. Beside that, when going out for food, some immigrants might have trouble ordering or when they go shopping, the language might hinder them from getting what they really want. The consequence of this is serious. Eventually, people could alien themselves from others due to communication issue.

In conclusion, living in a nation that does not speak their first language bring about obstacles for people, socially and practically, as there might be clash in cultures and a misinterpretation daily. However, people can improve this by truing to take up the new language to have a better understanding of their new country.