Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computers is now replacing their functions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The concept that public libraries are being replaced by computers is debatable. Hence arises the question whether it is viable to spend money for maintenance of public libraries. But I think public libraries still have things to offer, which demands the expenditure for its maintenance.

Public libraries have been the vanguard of spreading knowledge for centuries to enormous number of people. However, with the emergence of computers in our day-to-day life, the use of public libraries have diminished a great deal. And now people do not usually go to public libraries anymore to collect necessary information, which they can easily obtain through their computers at home. Still there are people who prefer public libraries, because it gives them a feeling of assurance and reliance. Also, public libraries contain so many priceless books that are important to preserve since they remind us of our history and the knowledge of how we got to the modern age of technology. Moreover, public libraries are a gold mines for researchers, where they can find rare books and information for their research which are not usually available on the internet.

Another reason to spend money for maintenance of public libraries is that nowadays many public libraries are going through modernization, with the introduction of computer and internet. This is a great way to revive the role of public libraries in our society. For instance, the great library of Alexandria is not digitalized and people can find any book using the high-tech computers available at the library, hence justifying the need to carry on the maintenance of public libraries.

After all, public libraries are not completely replaced by computer yet. Also, by the application of modern technology public libraries are adapting themselves, which nullifies the idea of wasting money in the maintenance of public libraries.