In many countries, old or traditional languages are dying out or being forgotten, especially by younger people. Is this an acceptable development which occurs inevitably, or is it something which we should try to prevent?

In today’s world, it appears to be proven that a lot of native tongues are gradually becoming obsolete and this trend is prevalent chiefly among youngsters. It seems to me that this development is inevitable and should be accepted by the reasons this essay will analyze.

Perhaps, the major factor here is globalisation; the process that unifies differences between countries and ethnic groups and considerably influences languages. While many nations in the world tend to integrate in the global economical, political and technological activities, and languages of these nations change appropriately, other part of the world considers to stay aside from this integration. Moreover, many experts claim that the most languages that are forgotten are pertain to this part of the world because these tongues are enclosed, and, thus, their resource do not have enough power to describe modern world adequately and consistently. To illustrate that, if traditional language do not involve or tend to borrow modern words such as “the internet” or “smartphone”, young native speakers may prefer to learn foreign language than speak native tongue. Another point to consider is that the most youngsters in the world seem to be fascinated by educational and employment opportunities that the western world provide. This lead to the necessity of studying a one of the western languages, and, thus, their native tongue will be gradually forgotten.

While it may be correct that saving dying languages has become a matter of life for some enthusiasts, it still appears to be the case, however, that the process of obsoleting some amount of tongues cannot be stopped.

Overall, it seems to me that the inevitability of disappearing several dialects in the world is become quite evident. I hope, these nations will find power to adopt to these changes.