Some people feel crime rates are best lowered by increasing prison sentences. Discuss this topic. What are some alternatives to raising prison sentences?

The growth of crime rates is an international issue with which almost all governments around the world are grappling. While many suggest it can be countered by the increasing of prison sentences, I strongly disagree that this approach will lead to lower crime rates. This essay will provide support for this position and also propose some alternative counters to rising crime.

Firstly, links between incarceration rates and crime levels have little empirical support. Moreover, many experts of criminology argue that crime rates correlate to situational factors and are not deterred by increasing the severity of the punishment. For example, crimes punishable by incarceration have risen in recent times; however, crime rates in Russia still remain high. Thus, it becomes quite evident that increased prison sentences do not lower crime rates.

Other methods of decreasing crime such as providing affordable education to people in difficult economic situations, may be more effective. For example, providing affordable education can help improve the employment options of people and decrease the risk of certain segments of society falling into crime. Thus, education for poor people is a real alternative to prison sentences in order to decrease criminal activity.

To sum up, I believe that increasing the duration of prison sentences is an ineffective approach to crime. I recommend governments all over the world experiment with alternatives, such as providing education for people with high risk of criminal behavior, to deal with this.