Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

Illiteracy is still being a much-debating issue by the reason of its huge detrimental effects on both individuals and society. There seem to be three main causes and number of effects which will be discussed in this essay.

Perhaps the major cause appears to be an insufficient funding of educational initiatives by a government in the areas where illiteracy is spread. Indeed, without proper financial support It seems to be impossible to start schools and, therefore, teach local people how to read and write. Secondly, while a wide part of the world population has incomes below poverty line, this poor monetary status hinders illiteracy eradication because education is not affordable for these human beings. Finally, a role is played by tradition and customs in people’s lives should not be underestimated. For example, in some cultures education for women is prohibited due to a traditional way of life.

The effects of this on individuals and society can be quite significant. First of all, illiterate person have no skills to acquire knowledge. This leads to restrictions in self-development and employment opportunities. As well as that, it proves to be impossible to store knowledge in books and other information containers for that person. The second effect to consider is that an illiterate sector of population may be separated from educational, cultural and economic scope of a state. Therefore, the differences between illiterate and educated parts of society will be risen further. Finally, unlearned people cannot perform on par with others in economic scope of a country, and there is long-term detrimental impact on the country’s economy.

Overall, educational issues and tradition seem to be the main causes, and they affect both individuals and the movement of population in the areas affected.