Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children.

Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

Educating children in their early ages is a constantly-evolving field of research in today’s world, and debate related to homework is one of the facets of this field. While some claim that giving children some work to do by their own at home should be avoided in the modern educational system, others argue for its huge benefits for pupils. Advantages and disadvantages of both approaches will be discussed in this essay before reasonable conclusion will be reached.

Perhaps, the major factor of giving homework is teaching a child to make efforts for acquiring knowledge by his own and be accountable for homework has to be done. While learning process in the school is сompletely depends on the scope of teacher’s competency, doing homework accustoms children to think and solve problems by themselves. Moreover, this homework will be checked and evaluated by a teacher later, and ,thus, pupils have to bear responsibility for the results of their own work. Supporters of this approach claim that it positively affects child development, and it appears to be a viable option in order to make responsible and resolute individual from a child. Another point to consider is that consistency of educational process would not be damaged. It seems quite obvious that most children are not really interested in education, and , therefore, knowledge that has acquired in a class may be forgotten after lesson ends. Nevertheless, given homework plays a key role for learning and memorizing new subjects due to the fact that the process of education does not end in classes and it consistently continues at home.

On the other hand, homework may significantly disrupt learning process because of its overwhelming hardness. To illustrate that, It is an inescapable fact that homework given by teachers in Russian schools is so complex that parents are always helping their children to do it, otherwise, infants are not able to complete it. This being the case, it seems pointless to give homework. Secondly, an enormous amount of homework may negatively affects children’s health. There is a widely-held concern that if child in his early ages has no sufficient leisure time for entertainment and playing due to overworking, it causes stress and anxiety. Thus, giving children homework is potentially harmful for their health.

In conclusion, it seems to me that despite of its detrimental factors, teachers should give their pupils homework. THe benefits of this approach positively influence child development.