Everybody should donate a fixed amount of their income to support charity.

How far do you share this viewpoint?

In today’s world, charity organizations contribute considerably to solve many daunting issues related to education, poverty, water and food provision, and environment protection. While they are funded through voluntary donations made by many people around the world, it seems to me that the idea of obligatory donations of a part of income brings more disadvantages than benefits, and I will explain why in this essay.

Perhaps the main factor here is that a lot of people in the world have income below a poverty line, therefore, donating a particular amount of money for charity may aggravate poorness of their monetary status. This should be avoided. Another point to consider is that it appears to be discriminatory to specify how human beings should spend their money. It does not matter they were born in wealth or work to earn it, people have absolutely right to independently decide how to manage their incomes, Finally, donations for charity support are suggested as voluntary action. If head of households is induced to withdraw some amount of money on regular basis, even for benevolent intentions, it can be considered as paying bills or taxes. Thus, it has no common with the roots of charity.

While it might be correct that obligatory donations incite huge investments towards on charity organizations that significantly increases effectiveness of these organizations. Despite this, the sense of obligation completely nullifies a value of this gesture.

Overall, the approach of compulsory donations compromate these investments because of its obligation and discrimination. Charity should be supported by free will of donators, not by forcing them to do it.