Some people feel that public money should not be spent on cultural amenities such as museums, theatres and art festivals. How important do you think these things are to society as a whole? Are there any areas which are more important for the government to fund?

Public art and cultural events play a significant role in a society’s life as they make human beings experience impressive emotions and create strong bonds between different sectors of society. However, it seems to me that funding these activities by government should be questioned because a range of other sectors is much more important for investments.

Admittedly, it is correct that every municipality should have facilities which would be the centers of creativity, culture and art innovations. While the most of people deal with high levels of stress during workdays, festivals and theatres are the places, where individuals experience an atmosphere of relaxation, entertainment, genuine emotions and cultural impressions. This lessens anxiety caused by stressful environment at work and socializes human beings. Thus, it is logical to conclude that spending public money on cultural amenities seems highly likely, nevertheless, I tend to suggest other options that are much more valuable for society and should be funded.

First of all, it is of paramount importance that the first aim of public money investitions should be education and tuition costs subsidizing. Supporters of this highlight the fact that educated individual has no intention, for example, to make crimes in order to earn money for living and has considerable employment opportunities in the modern world. Thus, investments in education contribute to solving key social problems ranged from high crime rates to unemployment. Another area to consider is sustainable lifestyle projects. Environmental pollution is the gravest issue nowadays, and the long term consequent problems of this may include climate change, depopulation, deforestation and rapidly decreasing of biodiversity. All this significantly endangers the human race being, and, therefore, governments of all countries should financially support initiatives that turn our lifestyles to sustainable ways.

Overall, the art and cultural places are certainly a priority to some extent for funding. However, it should be seen as one among a range of issues to be solved, and investments in education and environment protecting should be much more important.