All children should learn to speak a foreign language as soon as they start school. How far do you agree with this proposal? How important is it for a child to learn a foreign language?

In today’s world, it appears to be a common practice to add a second language learning subjects in a first-graders’ school curriculum. These intentions seem completely reasonable to me because knowing a foreign language may play a key role in the future life of a child.

The main factor why learning another language should be necessary while starting school is that it will open great opportunities in the future to study, work or travel in another country. For example, one of the reasons why a lot of people all over the world have never left their hometowns is unknowing of the language. This demonstrates how foreign language ability clearly makes its owner seizing opportunities that other countries may offer. Another point to consider is that acquiring knowledge related to language learning in the early ages much more easier than later. Supporters of this claim that infant’s mind is considerably perceptive for new information, and, thus, this feature should be used to study the second language on par with the native in the first grades of school. Finally, studying a foreign tongue often moves in parallel with diving into a culture of the country that begot this language. This contributes to widening a child’s horizon.

Although, it is true that the curriculum of the first school grades may be significantly overloaded, and adding language learning may decline it more. Nevertheless, the benefits of this approach appear to be overwhelmingly positive.

In conclusion, the idea of learning a foreign language in the first grades seems absolutely positive to me. The importance of knowing a second language should not be underestimated by the reasons that it may provide profitable opportunities in the future life and broadens child’s horizon in a whole.