Some countries today have passed laws against smoking tobacco in public buildings such as offices and restaurants. Other countries have no intention of doing this. Consider the possible arguments on both sides of this debate, and reach your own conclusion on which side you favour

In today’s world, the most of the countries, especially in the western world, lead prohibitive policy regarding to smoking cigarettes in public areas while others have no regulations about this. I am going to consider both sides of the discussion in this essay.

The major factor why smoking in public places is prohibited is that tobacco smoke brings negative consequences to individual’s health. And if smoker’s desire to consume tobacco is completely voluntary, then other people around him or her in public have no intention to inhale potentially harmful smoke. Another point to consider is that the habit of smoking can be treated as bad habit, therefore doing this publicly may instill this habit to easily inspired people like adolescents or women. This should be avoided. Finally, tobacco appears to be considered as drug because it causes addiction to it and wide range of illnesses, from heartache to cancer. While almost all countries have laws against drug consumption, tobacco smoking should be prohibited on par with other drugs.

However, opponents of this approach claim that the lack of laws against tobacco may bring some merits to a state. To exemplify that, people that smoking tobacco freely and publicly do not pursue the goal to control their habit or reduce tobacco consumption. Because cigarettes are additionally taxed, country’s economy may be significantly driven by wide tobacco consumption. In addition, sometimes it seems to be impossible to pass laws against smoking due to political landscape. For example, strong lobby of tobacco production companies in government can hinder initiatives of public smoking ban.

In conclusion, I would tend to side with the supporters of smoking regulation. It seems to be that benefits of this approach outweigh it possible disadvantages. I hope governments all over the world will put conscious efforts to take care of public health.