Some people feel crime rates are best lowered by increasing prison sentences. Discuss this topic. What are some alternatives to raising prison sentences?

The decrement of crime rates is an international issue with which almost all governments around the world are grappling. While many suggest it can be countered by increasing of prison sentences, I strongly disagree with the point that the more felons will be sentenced to imprisonment, the lower crime rates will be. In this essay, the insolvency of this statement will be shown as well, as some alternatives of reducing a number of crimes will be considered.

With regards to increasement of prison sentences, this step is not being able to lower a number of felonies. Moreover, many experts of criminology express a claim, based on a particular number of researches, that the decrement of the scope of crimes is contributed by not the severity of punishment, but its inevitability. For example, the percentage of adjudicated convictions in Russian courts reaches the number of 99, most of all are prison sentences, but however crime rates in Russia still remain high. Thus, it becomes quite evident that increased prison sentences cannot lower crime rates.

However, it is possible to nullify this issue by considering other methods of decreasing crimes, such as providing affordable education to people with the addiction to criminal behaviour. It is no secret that many people tend to make crimes because of their poor monetary status and lack of opportunities to improve it. While the amount of economical crimes from the entire number of crimes are significant, this rate can be easily decreased by affordable education which can remove individual from the risk group and provide him an opportunity to survive without making crimes. Thus, education for poor people is a real alternative to prison sentences in order to decrease rate of crimes.

To sum up, I believe that increasing a number of prison sentences is a wrong way to resolve a problem of high rate of crimes. I recommend governments all over the world to turn their sight on alternatives, such as providing education for people with high risk of criminal behaviour, to deal with this.