In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have more positive or negative effects on the society?

It is generally believed that major proportion of world population is shared by the older people. This may be a positive sign for a nation and vice versa. This essay will present arguments for and against the increasing older population.

On one hand, it can be seen that a country having a greater number of older population is beneficial in a sense that it develops more sense of respect and harmony among the society. Older people are more mature and experienced, and they can influence the way society lives and make decisions. A society becomes more caring, loving and a better place to live in. For example, in Arian society, whenever there develops an argument, aged people help resolving that and no one challenges that in their respect.

In contrast, elder population may have negative effect on the society. As we all know that old people are old-fashioned. They don’t like to keep up pace with the modern thoughts and still believes in the past regime, coming out of comfort zone and thinking out of the box. Furthermore, they still believe in the old customs and traditions and criticiz if not followed according to their teachings. To elaborate, one of the vintage societies in Balochistan still don’t encourage the female education due to their traditional customs. If found someone, then they are badly criticized by them.

To sum up all, advantageous effects of respect, harmony, loving and caring in a society outweighs the disadvantages of old-fashioned and traditional elderly people living in a society. In my opinion, society will be more independent, courageous and peace loving due to courtesy of old class.