Some people believe that children should not be given homework every day, while others believe that they must get homework every day in order to be successful at school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is considered by some that teachers should avoid giving homework to pupils, whereas there are some who believe that homework is the crucial part of educational system. In my opinion, although not having homework can give students more time for practical activities, homework is important to build a sense of responsibility in them. This essay is going to look on the both sides and then will decide which approach is best.

On the one hand, in the absence of homework pupils will have more time to do practical skills, such as communication and problem solving. Keeping in mind the needs of current job market, these skills are more valuable than academic studies. For example, a recent survey done by Pakistan government showed that about 50 percent of university graduates are unemployable because they lack necessary job skills.

On the other hand, critics argue that homework is a key component of education because it develops a sense of responsibility among students which is a necessary thing to have. It is a common saying that a responsible man is a successful man because it does not matter how talented you are, if you are not striving for your goal then you cannot achieve it. To illustrate, one of my friends has achieved first position in his bachelor’s degree despite the fact he was not intelligent instead he had put extra hard work in his studies.

In conclusion, having practical skills is no doubt valuable to get a job and absence of homework can give more time to master them but the sense of responsibility is the key component to get success and it can only be attained by doing homework.