Many countries thought that children have to do homework in their free time while others say children should do more outdoor activity. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, there is a public debate about the free time of children. Many people share the view that children have to do homework in their free time. Meanwhile, others are of the view that they should have time to do more outdoor activities. Both of the views have their own merits. However, I am totally convinced that children should spend free time doing more outdoor activity rather than doing their homework.

To begin with, the most frequent factor contributing to this opinion is that spending too much time on homework might unbalance the life of children. One example to support this view is that in 2013, research conducted at Stanford University found that students in high-achieving communities who spend too much time on homework experience more stress, physical health problems, a lack of balance in their lives, and alienation from society. Therefore, it is undisputed that children should not spend their free time on their homework.

In addition, one explanation to support this view is that in this day and age, children allocate a large amount of their awake time for their study at school. This is shown by the following example. According to the statistics about hours at school of children worldwide, in Chile, an average student spends approximately 8 hours studying at school. For that reason, it is clear that they need time to relieve stress by outdoor activity instead of doing homework in their spare time.

Take everything into consideration, we may draw the conclusion that doing homework in free time can bring negative aspects to children. Moreover, children are pushed under the pressure of time studying at school nowadays. As a result, I utterly agree with the view that children should spend their free time joining in outdoor activity instead of doing homework.