In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays, that many urban dwellers are likely to live alone or in nuclear families has aroused people’s discussion. From my perspectives, this trend could have both positive and negative consequences in equal measure.

An array of merits of this trend can be identified. First, since people choose to live on their own, they will become more independent and self-reliant than those living with family members. Young adults, for example, have to learn how to cook, clean, pay bills and manage their budget, which helps them develop valuable life skills. Second, if more and more people opt for living alone, this trend will result in greater demand for housing. In fact, the housing stock has been inadequate to cope with this demand, which is conductive to estate agents and homeowners who are of great benefit from raising house prices and rents.

Nevertheless, there are negative aspects of this trend. First, by living alone, people might experience feelings of loneliness, isolation and worry. This means that they miss out the emotional support from their family, meanwhile they must bear the weight of all household bills and responsibilities, which could make them become more stressed, leading to some mental problems. Second, a rise in demand for housing is likely to push up property prices and rents. Although this may benefit some businesses, it is also one of contributing factors making people be faced with rising living costs.

In conclusion, the rise in one-person households will have both beneficial and detrimental effects on individuals and on the economy.