In many countries, traditional dress and costumes are considered effective ways of maintaining links with the past. How effective can traditional costumes be, in this sense? What other ways exist to help citizens connect with a country’s past?

There is a widely held belief that one of the effective ways of sustaining connections with ancient times might be conventional costumes and dress. These tend to be vital signs of depicting a country’s ancestor’s manner. However, some might argue that other tools like art, music, myths, and legends can be considered as effective weapons of introducing history to community members.

It is an inescapable fact that traditional dresses which belong to people from past times could make a connection between today and that times. Even though these customs are only a piece of cloth, they can evince religious rituals of that society, military parades, and social memes. Moreover, they transmit a message and make known various cultures and social categories. By this, I mean that for instance, we can distinguish affluent families with poverty-stricken by just examining their type of clothes or they can even reveal different kinds of traditional ceremonies. Hence, they appear to be a cardinal part of connecting to history.

Notwithstanding that, there would be other origins which can take us to the past. By perusing history, everyone may encounter with various elements in which traditions are playing a significant role. These are ranging from stories and folklore which are narrated by our grandparents, traditional music, and even fine art by professional artists. For example, old stories, including myths and legends like the Iliad and the Odyssey lead us to heroes, their customs, and especially the way they lived. Besides, through traditional music, everyone can learn about conventional ceremonies, shanties and dirges. Also, there are precious handcraft and painting which are handed down and conserved generation by generation, connecting us with everything about the past.

In conclusion, it is logical to declare that although dresses and costumes which belong to past time are priceless means of linking us to that time, there are other valuable ways such as music, legends, and arts, informing us from history.