Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

There is no doubt that in todays hectic life elderly family members are the least cared about people. There are many advantages of admitting old people in care or nursing homes, but we should also consider the drawbacks of this step. In this essay, I will discuss both the advantages and drawbacks of this approach and will provide example wherever necessary.

To begin with the positives, the elderly citizens’ enjoy the care and company that they receive in care or nursing homes. The reason for this is, the professional people like nurse and helpers are employed in these institutions. They are responsible to take care of physical, mental and emotional needs of the old people. For example, the elderly’s get a regular medical checkup and a health card is maintained for them. Furthermore, from pursuing their hobbies like gardening, pottery or painting to celebrating their birthdays all are planned for them. In contrast, the charm of staying at home is playing with the grandchildren and seeing them growing up. As a result, this positive environment keeps them happy and healthy.

Nevertheless, when the old parents are sent off to care or nursing homes they feel sad and lonely. This is due to, the distance created from family and friends. For instance, old people wait for festivals so that they can reunite with their relatives. However, the health of these old people can best be monitored under a professional guidance. As a consequence, medical emergencies cannot be handled properly at home thus leading to death.

In conclusion, despite the fact that old people receive better medical care in these professional places they get more love and affection by family members. The advantages of these professional institution outweigh the drawbacks and so many old people are being put in them.