Many food are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is better environmentally and ecomically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its advantages?

It is true that local food helps the economy and environment better. Although this may have several disadvantages, I believe that the benefits are greater than the drawbacks.

On the one hand, focusing on consuming local food is harmful in some ways. Firstly, local food can not satisfy consumers’ variety demands because foreign food is usually attractive to local customers with new tastes. For example, StoxPlus statistics showed that cheese gains more popularity in Vietnam’s consumers rather than drinking milk. Secondly, selling local food to the only domestic consumer does not create high added value due to the fact that purchasing local food of foreigners consumers with higher price can reap more benefits for local producers. For instance, exported coffee brings higher benefits for processors than the domestic market.

On the other hand, I would argue that these drawbacks are outweighed by the benefits. The first prominent justification is that eating local food contributes to reducing carbon footprint which can be emitted in long transportation. Furthermore, concentrating on consuming local food helps fragmented farmers have more stable incomes. To specify, Vietnam’s fragile farmers highly rely upon their buyers on the market. In addition, the quality of local food is fresher than imported food. For instance, Vietnam’s fish usually fresher than foreign fish.

In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, it is obvious to acknowledge the dominant benefits of this proclivity, but the possible drawbacks of focusing on chiefly eating local food should not be overlooked.