Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is better environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

It is clear that with the flat of technological revolution, food miles gradually takes off despite environment and economic issues .While there are lots of drawbacks in consuming food produced locally, I would argue that the advantages of eating local food outweigh its disadvantages.

From environment perspective, sitting at home and waiting for their food ordered after clicking on the tip of fingers apparently requires the huge number of the freight transport across the world. The massive intensify of vehicles is the main reason leading to the climate change by releasing more and more emissions into atmosphere. From economic perspective, crops for export are always grown as monocultures, as a result, the quality of others will deteriorate and the government cannot guarantee a prosperous and sustainable development.

But the other side of this coin stems from stimulating the national economy. Firstly, the consumption from inhabitants is exceptionally high is motivating the national enterprise focus on producing more and more items. More money will within the local budget in stead of lining the pockets of shareholders. Secondly, if the national budget is scare, citizens find it hard to serve the high quality of life as well as welfare services.

To sum up, although consumers have the right to choose what they really like, I would argue that it will be better for the economy and the environment if they use domestic foods.