Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal.
Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important
for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.
People have different views about how governments should measure their countries’
progress. While economic progress is of course essential, I agree with those who
believe that other measures of progress are just as important.
There are three key reasons why economic growth is seen as a fundamental goal for
countries. Firstly, a healthy economy results in job creation, a high level of employment,
and better salaries for all citizens. Secondly, economic progress ensures that more
money is available for governments to spend on infrastructure and public services. For
example, a government with higher revenues can invest in the country's transport
network, its education system and its hospitals. Finally, a strong economy can help a
country’s standing on the global stage, in terms of its political influence and trading
power.
However, I would argue that various other forms of progress are just as significant as
the economic factors mentioned above. In particular, we should consider the area of
social justice, human rights, equality and democracy itself. For example, the treatment
of minority groups is often seen as a reflection of the moral standards and level of
development of a society. Perhaps another key consideration when judging the
progress of a modern country should be how well that country protects the natural
environment, and whether it is moving towards environmental sustainability.
Alternatively, the success of a nation could be measured by looking at the health, well- being and happiness of its residents.
In conclusion, the economy is obviously a key marker of a country’s success, but social,
environmental and health criteria are equally significant.